Our Scout Groups

Scouting in Swindon Ridgeway District centres around twelve groups and Explorer and Network units.

The twelve groups are based in Old Town (three groups), Wichelstowe, Parks, Coleview, Dorcan, Wanborough, Chiseldon, Wroughton, Wootton Bassett and Brinkworth. The Explorer units are based in Old Town/town centre, Wroughton and Wootton Bassett, whilst the Network unit covers the whole area.

If you’re looking for scout groups in the north of Swindon, see www.swindonnorthscouts.org.uk, or for elsewhere in the UK visit www.scouts.org.uk.

Our Volunteers

Each group relies on volunteer leaders and helpers to keep it going – if you think you might be able to help out, see our Volunteering page.

The Scout District

All of the above are part of Swindon Ridgeway District, and are led by a District Commissioner and a team of other volunteers with specialist areas of responsibility. We also have a District Executive Committee, which agrees the high-level strategy for the district, as well as preparing the annual budget (so they are a bit like the Governors in a school).